OK, let's see if I have this straight. This "show" really irritates. Who are these judges anyway? Some washed-up former model with a lot of wigs? A man whose main claim to fame is that he can walk like a woman? Some former models who are so old that they can no longer fit into their bustles? Botox and tummy tucks aplenty. I swear there was one former model who had her face lifted so many times that the cleft in her chin used to be her belly button. And why is it they have so many former models who can no longer find employment as models who by miracles become photographers? It takes more than the ability to buy expensive photographic equipment to become a photographer - all the expensive photographic equipment in the world will not give you a jot of talent. And why should the competing models be judged on their abilities to make glamorous outfits out of ripped up old shmatas that look like they came from the return counter at Target? Or hold their heads under water, or fly through the air, or set their butts on fire, or make a commercial in flawless Cantonese, or be set loose in the middle of the Ginza with an hour to get to their appointments, and all the while they must smile, always look good no matter what, and never eat so much as a cookie. Do people employed as models do any of this stuff?
And what's up with that dialogue near the end? "I have before me 5 beautiful girls but only 4 beautiful photos. Whichever beautiful girl's beautiful name I do not beautifully call must immediately return to her beautiful room, pack up her crap, and get the hell outta here." Who does she think she is? The queen of California? Really, Tyra, I had so many hopes for you and now you've disappointed me and made me angry.
No comments:
Post a Comment