Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Restaurant

Side Effects

Have you ever noticed that a medication, any medication, has side effects?  Even common aspirin can cause bleeding, tissue erosion, is bad for people with ulcers, and God knows what else.  Now that American television allows advertising for prescription medications, apparently the ads must also disclose the possible side effects.  So we hear ads for depression medication, with the possible side effect of thoughts of suicide, not good.  Other medications with side effects like pain, swelling, blurred vision, dizziness.  Wow, why take them?  Of course, one of the most interesting side effects that they mention is swift and painful death.  That's a very grave (no pun intended) side effect indeed.  Of course, trying to look on the bright side of things, if you experience the side effect of swift and painful death, you will no longer have the symptoms that you needed to take the medication for in the first place.  And who can escape the ads for medications for erectile dysfunction?  That possible injury after a 4-hour problem sounds nasty.  Imagine having to run to an emergency room and explaining to the triage nurse this bit of problem.  Surely, she will need to see it.  Could be quite embarrassing.  And anyway if the stuff really works all that well when the moment strikes, why do we always see the couple (presumably after they have acted upon the moment) in separate bath tubs facing the ocean or a pool or another body of water?  If the medication had worked, wouldn't they be together in the same tub?  What's with those separate tubs?

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Monday, June 28, 2010

Enlightenment

Combovers

I can't believe the guys with combovers think that they could possibly look good or worse yet, natural.  I have never heard or read a single word in their favor and there is a good reason for that.  And it's not just Senators and Donald Trump who have them.  It's not unusual to see your average Joe walking down the street when a wind blows up and suddenly he has six feet of hair on one side and just an inch or two on the other.  Don't these people understand that the rest of us know that hair does not part just above the ear? Some of these guys look so freaky, they look like they've combed up the hair from their armpits (or elsewhere). Surely there must be a better way of hiding from the public the fact that you are follicularly challenged.  I suppose Rogaine and minoxidil would work fine, if you can stand the expense and the maintenance.  I am glad that hair transplant procedures have progressed.  Remember what the heads looked like when it was early days for the procedure?  Those spaced-apart plugs made your head look like the head of a kewpie doll.  Not a good look.  There are all these hair replacement and hair restorations out there.  Maybe it would just be best to shave your head (you will look and feel so much better), and call it a day.

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Mirandized

El Tomatillo

Avatar

Ok, let's see if I have this crap straight.  A man who is paralyzed from the waste down crawls into some sort of pod-like device and through a miracle of modern science can become (through dreaming, I think) a very tall fully-ambulatory blue being who joins a band of similar blue beings (even falling in love with a girl blue).  The blue gang lives on a very strange planet where mountains float in the sky, unattached to anything below, and Tinkerbelle gods float around and grant prayers.  The main weapons of the blues (ya gotta have weapons, it's a movie). are bows and arrows.  Mankind has evolved so much in this movie that science has progressed to the point where it is possible for this transition to blue being to happen.  But mankind is still kind of primitive, attacking other beings with all sorts of super weaponry to gain control of their assets (actually I do not find this part all that far-fetched).  But the blues prevail, led, of course, by their new blue convert.  Thank Tinkerbelle.  I am wondering though, if science has progressed all this far, far enough to allow someone to crawl into a pod and become tall, blue, and handsome, why was this guy still in a wheelchair to begin with?  Why haven't they been able to just fix his paralysis?  Of course, had that happened, we wouldn't have had this wonderful movie, we wouldn't have bought all that popcorn and snacks. 
Personally, I preferred "Whatever Happened To Baby Jane."  The wheelchair was just a better actor back then.  Oh well, icky sticky doo doo (no, I'm not speaking in tongues, that's bluespeak for  "See ya later").

Friday, June 25, 2010

I-phone

I-phone, I-pad, I-don't give a crap.

Rainy Morning


Can you help support this blog? 
















Thursday, June 24, 2010

The Gathering Storm

Project Runway

Project Runway is such a great show and I'm so glad it was able to find a home on another channel willing to dig more deeply into its pockets.  In fact Tim would do better therefore to exhort the "designers" to make it with pockets instead of  "Make it work."  Why do they always take the "designers" to the local Bohack's to buy an old salami and a plastic tablecloth meant for some picnic with hotdogs and putrid salmonella-laden macaroni salad.  Oh, I almost forgot the plastic garbage bags, gotta have those.  The "designers" are then supposed to make glamorous outfits out of those salamis, checkered tablecloths, and garbage bags.  Is that  what real designers do?  Granted some of the outfits that I see in the stores do look it.  Anyway, then the "designers" are judged by people who allegedly know fashion, like the lady who escaped from Colombia with her sense of style intact, or the chubby old lady who forgot that once you take the roller out of the front of your dyed hair that something more still needed to be done to it.
And why does Heidi always end the show by kissing the loser (normally someone whose work she has just attacked), and saying "Auf wiedersehen?"  Is she really going to see them again?  And the show is American, what's with the "Auf wiedersehen?"  Shouldn't she end with English?  Something like "Ciao, baby."

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Fire in the Sky

Granite Countertops

It really seems to me that the immense popularity of granite countertops in kitchens and even bathrooms is very fad-like and will disappear as quickly as it arose.  Is the rise in popularity of granite countertops and the rise of all those buy a home or improve your home shows on cable just a coincidence?  And they are so expensive.  Don't the promoters of those shows know that the rest of us are in The Great Recession?  They make it seem like if you don't have a granite countertop, your home is just crap, you will never sell it and if you buy a property (who can do that today?) without a granite countertop, you've just bought junk and totally wasted your investment, nobody will ever want it.  Remodel your kitchen and bath or die.  But besides the expense are granite countertops truly equivalent to the Second Coming?  Oh sure, many of them are truly beautiful, but they are very heavy, they require support.  Many of the homes into which they will be installed are thousands of miles from the places where the granite is quarried.  How ecological can it be to ship this heavy stone thousands of miles?  Must we all rip out our perfectly serviceable counters, often quite beautiful, to install granite?  Many people have been led to believe that they must.  And are granite countertops all that they are cracked up to be?  They are sealed, and the sealing needs to be repeated every few years.  They can scratch.  Some think they can give off radon.  They are damaged by contact with acid liquids.  Ever spill your coffee, orange juice, lemon juice, vinegar, soft drinks, vinegar, etc., on your counter?  Ever put a hot pot right down on a counter?  Granite, when subjected to direct contact with heat, can crack or chip.  Perfect repairs are unlikely.  Cleaning your granite countertop?  Avoid bleach or harsh cleansers, granite can't take them and can stain.  Yes every stone, by its nature, is unique in its appearance, but must every counter otherwise look alike?  How very boring.  What's next, stainless steel appliances?

Monday, June 21, 2010

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Cooking? Take off that jewelry, yuck!

A peeve of mine is people on TV who cook, people who ought to know better, but cook with their jewelry on.  Sorry folks, that's disgusting, especially when they mix up things like meat balls, things that they need to stick their hands into, things full of salmonella, and they need to wear their rings.  Years ago, when Julia Child had her TV show, Mastering the Art of French Cooking, she came in for some just criticism for doing some things that certain viewers thought were a bit less than sanitary.  My guess is, that sensitive to that sort of criticism, Julia changed some of the things on her program, and always stressed how scrupulously clean her utensils were, her towel or apron were, etc.  Now move forward to the present day, the day when we know much more about spreading salmonella and other food-borne bacteria, and we find so many of those cooking on TV are cooking with their jewelry on.  Ladies (and gents), I don't care how clean your hands and your rings are, mixing foods and cooking with your rings on is simply foul.  Rings on your fingers capture bits of food that you are preparing, bacteria grows, and you move it to the next dish that you are working on.  I've seen it done on PBS, Food Channel, and others.  One of the ladies who does it is a professor at a culinary institute.  One of the most basic principles taught at culinary institutes is the absolute need for cleanliness and the removal of any jewelry, especially on your fingers.  Now, Paula, we know you want to show your audience your diamonds, but honeychile you're far from Elizabeth Taylor, and your diamonds don't come close.  If you feel that you must show your viewers your diamond rings, couldn't you just take them off before you cook, let the cameraman take shots of them by themselves and not on your fingers?  You could get credit for teaching your viewers something about sanitation.  Wouldn't that be nice, y'all?

Friday, June 18, 2010

Tomato Is Not Shy

Being Koi

Antiques Crapshoot

You know that old "heirloom" that your grandmother stole from an old neighbor when he was on his deathbed?  Then you took it from granny when she was crapping out (kleptomania runs in your family, doesn't it?).  Poor granny, she never even had a bucket list let alone do anything on it.  Of course, there was the time that she had planned to fly across The English Channel using one of her old pair of bloomers as a balloon.  Luckily (or unluckily depending on your point of view), it didn't work, she couldn't get enough lift.  Anyway, I've digressed away from the "objet d'art."  The one you've been carefully guarding ever since.  Well, get rid of it, it's just a dust-collecting tchotschke and ain't worth nothing.  If you were hoping to take it to the Roadshow and that it would be appraised for millions and you'd be on Easy Street, forget it, not happening.  If one of their antique appraisers were to see it, they'd laugh.  Appraisal $0.  Come on, you need an organizer to come into your home, or are you a hoarder?  By the way, do you remember that old episode where someone brought in an old framed print that was worth nothing and then lo and behold, behind the worthless print the appraiser found a rare and valuable work worth kazillions?  Didn't that seem a little contrived to you, a little coincidental?  Why did the appraiser take the worthless print out of the frame in the first place?  I also always get a kick out of comparing the British and American versions of the show.  On the British version, an old lady brings in something and the appraiser says, "This is a jewel encrusted horn that Queen Mary used to use to hear things.  I appraise it at 250,000 pounds sterling."  "Oh, I'm ever so happy," the old lady says, "I'm jumping for joy."  But she isn't you see, she's just sitting there quite composed, quite calm, so calm that you're almost afraid that she will keel over any moment and hit the floor.  But on the American version, a lady comes in wearing flowery shorts and a paper party hat.  The appraiser says, "This item is worth $12."  The lady, thrilled, jumps up from her chair, blows a whistle that she has removed from the dark recesses of her body somewhere, kisses the appraiser, praises the Lord, sits back down, and proceeds to soil the seat.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Barren

Food Netwish

Really, Rachel, I'm sick of hearing "delish," and "nutrish."  What's wrong with "delicious," and "nutritious?"  Too hard for ya?  Anything over two syllables too much for you?  Too tough on the brain, which, granted you don't seem to have much need for, but also too hard for the mouth?  You seem to use that a lot.  I remember those commercials you used to do for Dunkin Donuts.  Reportedly you would dump the Dunkin coffee and fill replace it in the cup with stuff from Starbucks.  Is that why you are no longer doing the Dunkin Donuts commercials?  Dunkin found out?  Like Starbucks better?  Why, have an affinity for attitude with your coffee?  Maybe attitude is contagious.  You got it.

Monday, June 14, 2010

Tomato's Eyes

America's Next Top Model

OK, let's see if I have this straight.  This "show" really irritates.  Who are these judges anyway?  Some washed-up former model with a lot of wigs?  A man whose main claim to fame is that he can walk like a woman?  Some former models who are so old that they can no longer fit into their bustles?  Botox and tummy tucks aplenty.  I swear there was one former model who had her face lifted so many times that the cleft in her chin used to be her belly button.  And why is it they have so many former models who can no longer find employment as models who by miracles become photographers?  It takes more than the ability to buy expensive photographic equipment to become a photographer - all the expensive photographic equipment in the world will not give you a jot of talent.  And why should the competing models be judged on their abilities to make glamorous outfits out of ripped up old shmatas that look like they came from the return counter at Target?  Or hold their heads under water, or fly through the air, or set their butts on fire, or make a commercial in flawless Cantonese, or be set loose in the middle of the Ginza with an hour to get to their appointments, and all the while they must smile, always look good no matter what, and never eat so much as a cookie.  Do people employed as models do any of this stuff?
     And what's up with that dialogue near the end?  "I have before me 5 beautiful girls but only 4 beautiful photos.  Whichever beautiful girl's beautiful name I do not beautifully call must immediately return to her beautiful room, pack up her crap, and get the hell outta here."  Who does she think she is?  The queen of California?  Really, Tyra, I had so many hopes for you and now you've disappointed me and made me angry.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

The 1950's









Accents

Many years ago, when my mother would order Chinese food to be delivered or even if we were in a Chinese restaurant, she would order in the most horrendous fake Chinese accent.  I was always mortified.  I am sure she got some spit in her hot and sour soup once in a while.  If we went to restaurants of other nationalities, she didn't do it, I have no idea why not.  One day, totally embarrassed, I asked her why she did it.  "Because," she said, "they speak with an accent."   This didn't and doesn't make any sense at all, but it seemed perfectly logical to her.  "Ma," I said, "they may speak with an accent, but they don't hear with an accent."  I had made my point, but she had made hers and for the rest of her life she continued to order Chinese food in a bad Chinese accent, something right out of a racist Jello commercial from the 1960's.  A few years ago I went to a concert in New Jersey with a friend who had an accent.  Tickets for the concert were given free or at a reduced price to organizations of immigrants, the handicapped, charities, and many others.  One woman in the lobby started speaking to my friend and when she heard him respond to her with an accent, she would speak in ever increasing volume.  Finally, exasperated, my friend said to her, "Lady, I have an accent, I'm not deaf."  Another patron at the same concert pointed to a blind woman with a seeing eye dog and a white cane.  She asked me, "What language does she speak?"  "Blindish," I replied. 
Oh, by the way, if you have an accent, especially a Spanish one, it might behoove you to avoid Arizona.

Saturday, June 12, 2010

Hydrangea Budding

Beyond Pollution

If you put a few single-celled organisms in a test tube with fresh clean water and some food, they will flourish there for a while.  But the test tube is finite and eventually they or their progeny will die, poisoned by their own waste.  Our beautiful blue mother earth is much like that test tube.  Oh sure, it seems very vast.  But, in the end, it too is finite.  There are limits on our waters, our air, our land.  But we seem determined to poison ourselves and our mother.  Look out into the cosmos, there are many dead planets.  Must we join them?  There are ways to keep the earth fresh and clean.  Are we concentrating our efforts, our intelligence towards that end?  Or are we like those single-celled organisms in that test tube, doing so well in good times but unknowing, uncaring, blind to the inevitable end?  Too many politicians and others in positions of power are really saying the equivalent of "I've got mine, so screw you."  They won't say it out loud of course, not for the public, no.  Maybe they don't even say it to themselves but it is there.  They give so much lip service to loving and caring.  But is it sincere, or just more bull, more poison for our test tube?  Have you seen the TV ads that BP is running?  The ones where their CEO says how sorry he is.  Yeah, well thanks buddy but sorry won't feed the kittycat.  How BP has mounted the largest cleanup in U.S. history?  Yeah, well it's the largest defiling of the Gulf of Mexico in U.S. history too and the "cleanup" is pitiful and inadequate.  Cleaning up your own mess?  Gee buddy, thank you ever so, most grateful I am.  And all the money that BP is spending on TV and other outlets to clean up their image.  Wouldn't it be better spent on cleaning up the Gulf?  This is Beyond Petroleum, this is Beyond Pollution, this is nuts.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Swimming

Tommyto

Leaves

A Little More Hair on My Pizza Please.

Years ago I lived on Staten Island, maybe it's different now, I really don't know. But back then, there were basically only two careers possible on Staten Island. Either you made pizza (this was back in the day when there was no such thing as "white" pizza, so many of my brethren were sacrificed)or you did hair. I suppose if you were really lucky you did both. If you were even luckier, you did both at the same time.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Tomato Discusses a Fine Point of Law

Running with Tomato

Sunflower

Mr. Elvis Head

I heard on the radio yesterday that the company that makes the Mr. Potato Head toy has been granted permission to use Elvis Presley by the owners of that image to make a version of Mr. Potato Head to look like Elvis.  Why?  The first version will have a jump suit.  The radio said that there will also be a version for Christmas where Mr. Elvis Head wears black leather.  Who is going to buy this thing?  Do kids today care enough about Elvis to want him as a Mr. Potato Head?  After all, Elvis permanently left the room nearly 33 years ago.  Would the parents of today's kids be so enamored of the likeness of Elvis that they will be clamoring to buy this toy for their offspring?  Maybe the company that makes the toy is hoping that the grandparents will want to buy them.  I am also wondering if Elvis were alive today, would he want his image on a Mr. Potato Head?  Are those who have the right to the image so desperate for money that they would lend Elvis to this thing?  Of course, if they want to use my image to make a Mrs. Tomato Head, I would make it available for very little.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Saving Tomato

Madame Tomato

Role Playing

Did you ever feel in living your life that you are just playing a role in a play that has already been written?  I often do.  It seems like no matter what I do, the outcome is always the same, already written down somewhere.  It's like going to an opera that you've already been to millions of times.  You know the ending.  The overweight diva will die of consumption, belting out a strong aria in between coughing spasms and death rattles.  It's very sad but we still go.  Why?  Voyeurs?  Music lovers?

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Lotteries

It is my feeling that if you get no correct numbers in the Megamillions, PowerBall, or other lotteries, then you are uniquely talented and are deserving of a special prize.  I could be a rich tomato.  Of course, if you don't buy a ticket for a dollar, then in essence you've won that dollar.  If you had a million dollars and were going to buy a million lottery tickets with it but you don't, then in essence you've won that million dollars, and you'd be rich too!

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Have A Nice Day!

About 40 years or so ago, someone said to me for the first time, "Have a nice day." It disturbed and unsettled me until I realized that that person was saying it to everyone they encountered and that it was completely insincere. Then I felt better. Have a nice day!